+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4
1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: '92 851 S3 - Clutch slippage and hard to find Neutral gear.

Default '92 851 S3 - Clutch slippage and hard to find Neutral gear.

I'm a newbie to this bike, and going through all the basic steps of fixing the baby. So here we are its The Clutch!

Problem Statement: Clutch would slip and drag when shifting from neutral into 1st gear. So, at every traffic light and stop... there was a problem dragging the gear, hearing that god awful sound, etc.
    So I took the plates off and here are the facts. Pictures attached.
    1- There are a total of 7 friction plates, 7 spacers plates one of which is a double and at far end. Overall stack height is 38mm. This according to spec is correct. (38.00mm +/- 2.00mm)
    2- I did not find the slightly wavy spring steel spacer disc in this stack set. Also, the most inner spacer is a double set. All that said, the entire stack is still the right height.
    3- There was moderate glazing on the friction pads. So I took 200 grit sandpaper and roughed up both sides.
    3- The hub (inner drum) has slight indentations where the discs sit. To me it looks acceptable. The outer basket has no noticeable wear and slotting.

I reinstalled the stack and went for ride. Here are results :
    GOOD NEWS = No more slipping and dragging going from neutral into 2nd.

BAD NEWS= Finding neutral is now nearly impossible. Again, making it very hard to use in any traffic. This was not a problem before!

What can you tell me with the data? I need to be able to go into neural with ease.

Thanks!!!
    -->FJ
    Attached Images

How far does the pressure plate travel, and what does the inside of the top hat thing that sits in the pressure plate bearing look like? I think its about 22.5-3mm of travel normally.
    Griff
    To infinity and.......